Marc Coma


Marc Coma, a native of Barcelona, Spain, first won the Dakar Rally in 2006 in Africa and in 2009, 2011 and 2014 repeated the success in South America.

He first contested the Dakar Rally in 2002 when he rode a CSV motorcycle but had to retire with mechanical problems while in the top 20 of the field. He joined KTM


as part of the Repsol team for the Dakar in 2003, finishing third in four stages and established himself as a serious contender.

In 2012 Coma also won the FIM Cross Country World Championship to look promising for another Dakar victory in January 2013 but he was ruled out at the last minute because of a shoulder injury sustained in the Morocco Rally in October 2012.

He made a strong comeback to competition in early 2013 winning the first three rallies of the FIM World Championship series – the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, the Sealine Rally in Qatar and the Sardinia Rally. He was third in the Desafio Ruta in Argentina behind KTM teammates Kurt Caselli and Chaleco Lopez, third in the Dos Sertoes Rally in Brazil and second in the Morocco Rally to finish overall second in the championship. Coma is recognized for his skill and determination and an unflinching will to win that has driven him to the forefront of his sport.

Coma went on to seal victory in the 2014 edition of the Dakar Rally, considered by many as one of the toughest of recent times. He and teammate Jordi Villadoms made it a 1-2 for the KTM factory team, further extending its unblemished record of victories to 13. He then wrapped up an excellent season in the FIM World Championship securing his sixth world title.
Coma, whose father contested the Spanish MX champions and an uncle who was a big fan, was introduced to motorcycles at an early age. He went on to race motocross at regional, provincial and national level before moving to Enduro. He won the Junior Spanish Championship in 1995 on a KTM 250cc and went on to do well in Enduro, also at international level before committing to professional rally competition.

Career Information

  • Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • Winner Rally Dakar
  • Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • Winner Rally Dakar
2010     Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • Winner Rally Dakar
2012    Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • Winner Rally Dakar, Cross-Country Rallies World Champion
  • – 1st Dakar Rally (4th Dakar title and KTM’s 13th)
  • – 2nd Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge (2nd by a margin of 20 seconds)
  • – 2nd Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge (2nd by a margin of 20 seconds)
  • – 2nd Sealine Rally
  • – 2nd Sardgena Rally Race
  • – 1st Rally dos Sertoes Brazil
  • – 1st Morocco Rally (2014 FIM World Cross Country Rallies Champion – 6th World title)

Comments are closed.